Do you get it?

YJDUDYEver been in a conversation with someone – usually not an easy conversation – when the other person, exasperated with you, the conversation, or whatever just blurts out, “You just don’t get it, do you?” ….and “boom” there it is… the end of the conversation.

“You just don’t get it, do you?” is a cliché that movies use to kill conversations or end relationships. It is a way to refuse to recognize someone or to reject them. I suspect that along with exasperation, it can often be delivered with the characteristics that St. Paul warns us about: “bitterness, fury, anger, shouting, … reviling [and] malice.”  It is hard to see how “You just don’t get it, do you?” fulfills the proposal to “be kind to one another, compassionate, forgiving one another as God has forgiven you in Christ.”

And interestingly, “You just don’t get it, do you?” is not part of Jesus’ vocabulary of phrases. Although I wouldn’t blame him if it was.

Jesus could have asked this of Nicodemus in John 3. “No, I’m not talking about being born again from your mother’s womb. I’m talking about spiritual rebirth.” “You just don’t get it, do you?”

He could have said it to the woman at the well in John chapter 4. “No, I’m not talking about a drink of water from this deep, dark well. I’m talking about my presence that fills a thirst no earthly water can quench.” “You just don’t get it, do you?”

He could have said it to the man by the pool in chapter 5. “No, healing doesn’t come from bubbling water stirred up by an angel. It comes from me, and I’m standing right here next to you.” “You just don’t get it, do you?”

He could have said it to the crowd in here in our Gospel from John chapter 6 when all the murmuring starts:

No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draw him, and I will raise him on the last day.…. “You just don’t get it, do you?” ”

I am the bread of life. Your ancestors ate the manna in the desert, but they died; this is the bread that comes down from heaven so that one may eat it and not die..…. “You just don’t get it, do you?” ”

I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world……. “You just don’t get it, do you?” ”

We might have added that conversation killer, but not Jesus. There is no huff, fury, anger, shouting or malice. There is just kindness, compassion, patience and forgiveness. Jesus remains present to them, ever willing to be in and to continue the relationship.

He remained present to Nicodemus, the woman at the well, the man by the pool, the crowds in the wilderness. He remains present to you so that you can be born again, drink deeply of the Living Waters, and know the fullness of Jesus in the living bread. So that you can understand what all these things can mean in your life? So that you can come to Eucharist and give your “Amen,” getting the fullness of what that means.

Seriously – do you get it? ….maybe a better question is: “Do I get it?”

Yes….. mostly….. some days better than others …. Do I get it sufficiently that it makes a difference in my life – that bitterness, fury, anger and malice are set aside – and only kindness, compassion and forgiveness are present? Yes…. mostly …. some days better than others.

My life may have lots of “mostly” maybe some “not at all” but here is what I do get, here is what I trust – here is what I can return to on a “mostly” or a “not at all” day – that God loves us so much that he sent his only begotten Son. Who is like us in all things except sin. Who gave his life that we might have eternal life.

Jesus, the One who does not say “You just don’t get it, do you?”

Who – even when we stopped talking to Him – has never ended the conversation.

Who – even when we turned away – has never rejected the relationship with us.

Who – even when we desire so many things not of God – always desires that we be saved

That I get.

And on the days I don’t get much else, that can always be the point at which I begin again because …. That is what love does. That’s what God does.

I get that.

Amen.

 

Inspiration and some text from Aylce McKenzie

2 thoughts on “Do you get it?

  1. Great post! So many times we give up on a conversation (or a person) when they cannot see or understand things the way we do.

    I’m reminded of 1 Samuel 16:7: “The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

Leave a Reply

